Workers' Compensation Attorneys in Tennessee
Every job can involve hazards and accidents can happen no matter what field you are in or what your profession may be. Factory, industry, and construction workers who regularly use complex machinery and toxic chemicals are the most likely to be hurt on the job, but accidents in parking lots or injury from lifting office supplies and equipment also can be work-related injuries. The Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) estimates that more than 4.4 million on-the-job injuries occur each year, costing businesses and taxpayers more than 100 billion dollars.
Workers' compensation laws ensure that an employee won’t lose money while recovering from injuries or illnesses due to an on the job injury when the employee can’t perform his or her duties as a result of the injury.
Disability due to a work-related accident can be devastating to both you and your family. Under Tennessee Workers Compensation Law, the state requires that all workers who suffer occupational disabilities receive two-thirds of their wages. This applies to all disabilities, whether permanent or temporary, partial or full, for a period of up to 400 weeks. The law is designed to alleviate the panic and grief associated with becoming disabled from an injury on the job.
Unfortunately, insurance companies often take advantage of employees under financial pressures from their injury and desperate to reach a settlement. At Gilreath & Associates, we have handled countless workers compensation cases in Tennessee and surrounding states. We know how to help our clients receive the benefits they deserve, including:
- Medical, surgical, and hospital services
- Physical therapy
- Percentage of lost wages
- Attendant care
- Prescription reimbursement
- Mileage reimbursement for medical-related travel
- Home modifications
- Vocational retraining
- Impairment benefit checks
- Dental services
- Hearing aids
- Chiropractic treatment
- Nursing care
What to do if you are hurt on the job
- Get immediate first aid or other necessary medical treatment!
- Notify your supervisor about the injury and how it happened as soon as possible! Notice is essential because if a hazardous condition is not corrected, another employee may be injured. In addition, you may lose your right to workers' compensation benefits if you do not inform your employer within 30 days of the injury or event.
- Complete a claim for workers' compensation, which you can obtain from your employer
- Follow your doctor's instructions
- Attend an Independent Medical Examination if you are required to do so
- Attend any hearings held in the case when you are notified to appear
Our experienced and compassionate Tennessee attorneys will fight large insurance carriers to ensure that you get the compensation entitled to you under state law.
Click here for Workers Compensation Frequently Asked Questions